How do I report a crime?
All emergencies can be reported by dialing 911. For any other complaints, please
call our dispatch at 810-985-8115 or toll free at 1-800-462-7111.
How do I report a disabled vessel or any other non-emergency situation occurring
on the waterways?
By Telephone: You may contact us at our central dispatch using any of the
phone numbers listed above. DO NOT use 911 for NON-emergencies.
By Marine Radio: You may call our Sheriff's patrol boats on Channel #16 on
the VHF radio. If there is no response, call the US Coast Guard and advise them
of the nature of the situation.
How do I report an emergency on the water?
By Radio (preferred method): Call "Mayday, Mayday,Mayday" Give the nature
of your distress, your location and the name and description of your vessel. Wait
for an answer. If non, repeat the call again. Please be aware that calling "Mayday"
is for emergencies ONLY. Out of gas, being disabled, etc. is normally not life-threatening.
Use Mayday only if you feel you, your passengers or vessel are in immediate danger.
By Telephone: Call - But be aware that if you are near Canadian waters, you
may pick-up a cellular tower in Canada.
When must I report a boating accident?
Boating accidents in Michigan must be reported to a peace officer or the sheriff
if: (1) there is any injury requiring medical attention; (2) a person dies or is
presumed to have died; (3) there is damage greater than $100; (4) there is a disappearance
of a person from a vessel. If involved in an accident with another vessel, all parties
must stop and exchange information and render assistance. Accidents must be reported
even if only one boat is involved. Water accidents (non-boating) must also be reported
if: (1) there is serious injury; (2) a person dies or is presumed to have died,
such as a drowning or near-drowning incident.
How do I get a copy of a police report?
Contact our Service Bureau at 810-987-1700 located at the Sheriff's main office
at 204 Bard Street, Port Huron, MI 48060. There will be a small fee to cover costs
If I get a written violation, what must I do?
You must contact the court within 10 days. The court's telephone number and
address are listed on the violation notice. Failure to answer a written marine violation
can result in a warrant being issued through the prosecutor's office. Failure to
answer a traffic summons can result in a suspension of a person's driver's license.
If I get stopped on the water, am I required to show my driver's license?
You are not required to show your driver's license. However, it the best way
to identify yourself. Michigan law requires that ALL persons on a boat must correctly
identify themselves. Failure to do so or providing false identification can result
in a physical arrest. The vessel's registration certificate and/or documentation
papers must also be carried on board and shown to any law enforcement officer, if
Am I required to insure my boat?
Insurance for a vessel is not required under the law. However, it is highly
recommended that some type of liability insurance be carried for the boat.
All emergencies can be reported by dialing . For any other complaints, please call
our dispatch at 810-985-8115 or toll free at 1-800-462-7111.